It Came From the Internet- Baked Peaches

 

Happy Monday from Sweet Tea Cooking! I hope that everyone had a great weekend! It Came From the Internet is a post where I actually attempt one of the many dishes that I have Pinned or have coveted from other blogger sites. I vow to be completely honest and post any “Pinterest Fails” that I create also. I’ve made many of my Pins but they are always within my comfort zone. I haven’t really branched out very much so this is where things should get interesting.

Last week while we ate our Plated dinner I had peaches baking for dessert. I almost never baked a dessert the same evening that we were going to eat it. While it was so exciting it was almost a distraction for dinner. I just wanted to get right to dessert! However, I ate all of my dinner before digging in to dessert.

We have been on a huge peach kick this summer. They were so sweet and delicious. TJ commented that the last few that we purchased were not as good as they had been and with apple season in high gear it just made sense to stop buying them. I needed a way for us to get through our peaches besides throwing them in with our crockpot oatmeal. I came across a recipe for baked peaches on a website but it seemed a tad too fancy for our purposes. I know that our peaches were still pretty good and did not need a complex syrup, I searched for a recipe that just needed a few simple ingredients that we had on hand. I found the perfect recipe on Entwine Wine, a website for Food Network’s wine company…which was news to me. I still improvised the measurements seeing as I only baked one peach which makes two servings and did not feel like making brown butter. Overall, this recipe could not be any easier and it is so versatile. We’ll certainly be using this with other fruit!

  • All you need to do is halve and pit the peaches
  • Nuke two tablespoons of butter and mixed it with the cinnamon and brown sugar
  • Brush the mixture on top of the peaches allowing it to run down the sides so the whole peach carmelizes
Peaches

Oh yeah! Looking good!

  • Bake at 375 until tender, about 35 minutes
  • While the peaches are baking, mix plain yogurt with honey and a few shakes of cinnamon
  • Once the peaches are baked top with the yogurt mix and top with some granola…obviously Michele’s Granola
Baked Peaches

Putting that Michele’s Granola to good use!

This is a really great dessert that is relatively healthy. You can really customize it to fit your tastes and dietary needs. The butter and sugar can be cut down or swap the yogurt for some ice cream, it’s your dessert so do your thing! We’ll be making this dessert plenty in the future! Do you have any go to weeknight desserts?

Leave a Reply

